locked Re: Guiding questions

Jaimie Murdock

Hi Mirko,

I'm also fairly new to astrophotography, but I am also using the same software setup as you with the ES PMC-8 iEXOS-100 and included a screenshot below. Your RMS numbers are very high.

The first thing I noticed with your screenshot is the focus on your guidecam - it is very out-of-focus. While the guidecam is more tolerant to being out-of-focus, a 2-second exposure should show pin-point stars.

I guide with Via set to "ES iEXOS-100 PMC-Eight". This uses the USB cable for pulse guiding. I have not tried to use the ST-4 cable at all. It is not a part of my setup.  

The five biggest factors for successful guiding, so far:
1. Balance - ensuring that the scope is balanced in both RA and Dec, using the instructions in the manual.
2. Guidecam Focus - Having pinpoint stars reduces variance between exposures, increases accuracy.
3. Box Size - 16 has worked really well for me
4. Star selection - A star that is bright and stretches to the box size is ideal.
5. Remove Guidescope Flexure - make sure the guidecam is mounted securely to the primary scope. Mine was a little loose, causing maddening issues when the slightest bit of wind hit the scope and wobbled the actual camera.

I hope this helps!

Best, 
Jaimie

image.png

On Fri, Mar 12, 2021 at 11:54 AM Mirko Gude <mgude@...> wrote:
Hi,

because I've made some progress in setting up my equipment, I'am now able to spend some time for guiding. At the beginning there was no time for this, there were so many other questions so solve :-)

In the past months I've made some attempts to use guiding to achieve longer exposures. I'am using Indi/EKOS with a Raspberry Pi and EKOS provides a guiding function. First, I had the idea, that guiding will compensate a rough polar alignment, but after some attempts, I think that a good polar alignment is also important for guiding :-)

Very often I get a message like this: