Topics

Battery Power for EXOS-IIGT with PMC-Eight

Robert Parks

My mount did not come with any battery pack; bought in-house at ES.  Lance advises it no longer ships with a d/c battery pack.  Question: what is the recommended way to "remote power" when one is away from an A/C power source.  

I searched the posts and haven't seen this topic directly addressed, but I'm new to Groupsio so I apologize if this is repetitive.

Scott

Keith Krayanek

Scott,

I called when I realized the same thing.  I called ES told them there was no battery pack and they sent me for their older Bressor mount.  Of course the tip is a different size.  And I did not realize the tip was a different size from the ac corded tip.  I measured the battery pack tip  and got a tip for that and hooked it up to a 12 v marine battery.  Worked fine until the day of the solar eclipse.  Being in North GA I was getting a full solar eclipse.  About an half hour before full totality the mount stopped working.  The PMC-Eight locked up and the mount would stop tracking.  If you just touched the wire I could reproduce the same symptoms later on.  I should have noticed that the battery pack tip was a different size from the supplied A/C tip.  Then again so should have customer service at ES known that.  But they tried and that is more than some other companies.  

I did get the mount early, I exchanged my older Bressor Mount for the EXOS-II Mount with ES.  

Get yourself a  5.5mm/2.1mm DC tip and some wire and a 12 v battery.  Make sure you make the tip positive.  This is the correct size for the PMC-eight, exact size of the A/C tip.  Do not know if there any safeties in the PMC-eight, so be very sure you plug in the tip to the positive of the battery.  You do not want to reverse the polarity.  

Hope this helps

Keith Krayanek 

Steve Siedentop

I believe the PMC8 has reverse polarity protection.  As the PMC8 uses the "standard" 5.5 x 2.1mm center positive plug, you'll find options readily available.